top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

This makeshift catio is inTENTs!

I've wanted a catio for as long as I can remember. I even had a contractor draw up a schematic for a super awesome one at my previous residence. But alas, I didn't stay in that location for long and my envisioned catio was realistically not in my budget. But a girl can dream, right?


600 sq ft catio with multiple entries and a koi pond. Life goals. One day, kitties. One day ...

I have a small deck where I live now, but screening it in would be difficult due to the layout. I also cannot physically attach anything structural to the house, making any of my super awesome DIY catio ideas infeasible. So I had to come up with an alternative; the cats NEEDED a space to lounge outside with me. Just look how eager Fifi is to leave the house! She wants to befriend all of the outdoor creatures.



While there are many free-standing cat enclosures on the market, they tend to be VERY expensive and really not that pretty. I wanted something where the cats could go in and out at their leisure but was also easy for me to set up and take down on my own. This was not possible with the rigid catio structures available, so I had to modify my search criteria a bit. I needed to find something that I could somehow temporarily connect to the house and that would fit with my deck configuration. After taking some measurements, I turned to the internet for inspiration.


How do I optimize catio space without crowding my lounge area?

I found the Outback Jack Kitty Compound on Amazon and it fit my criteria pretty well. You can check it out here: https://www.amazon.com/Outback-Jack-Happy-Habitat-Portable/dp/B002KWHE1E. The tunnel is 72 inches long and the tent is 74 x 63 x 36 inches. The mesh appears to be pretty durable and once the tent and tunnel are zippered together and the tunnel entrance is secured inside the house, it seems pretty escape-proof. You can order additional tunnels and zip them together to make a longer entrance if needed. Some reviewers stated that the tunnel zippers do not match up correctly, but I'm pretty sure they tried connecting the wrong ends because I did exactly that the first time I tried to connect the tunnel and tent. I figured it out shortly after the first attempt.


Fully assembled mesh tent and tunnel. Ground stakes and carrying pouches provided as well.

The tent is SUPER easy to set up. You pull two cords at the top of the tent and it pops open. To close, you push two of the rods down and it collapses, ready to be folded for storage. It literally takes 5 seconds to assemble or disassemble - it is not painstakingly complicated like a camping tent. And it claims to provide about 30 square feet of space. The one downside is that there is only one opening in the tent, so you can't make a crazy multi-tent/multi-tunnel configuration. I don't have the space to do that anyways, but it would be super cool. For now, I'm happy that we all fit comfortably together on the deck.


I still have room for two chairs with the cat tent set up!

I first set up the tent inside so that the cats could explore. They were not afraid of it at all. Everyone took turns investigating and sniffing around and seemed to accept it as another one of their presents. They're so spoiled.


Fiona tried to climb the outside of the tent when I had it in the kitchen because she is very naughty, but hasn't tried to climb while actually inside of the tent. She did leaf up to grab a tie hanging from the tent once and hooked a nail on the mesh, but didn't pull on it at all. The mesh remained fully intact during her little stunts.


Fifi wreaking havoc while everyone else watches.

I will admit that I was a little nervous about the quality of the polyester mesh at first, but even though it doesn't feel heavy duty, the cats have used the tent every nice day for the past month and there is not a single defect in the fabric. Their nails don't seem to get stuck in the mesh and it is overall pretty durable. If you look very closely, the mesh is formed into an interwoven pattern, which I'm sure adds to the overall strength. It does give me a sense of protection.


Owen says hi! Look at that pink nose and those beautiful whiskers!

My biggest challenge was figuring out how to secure the tunnel inside my sliding door. I am NOT skilled in the world of arts and crafts, but I tried my best to make a temporary door insert using thick cardboard. Of course I cut the hole incorrectly the first time around, so I just flipped it over and used the other side and now I have a nice window cutout if I need it (which I don't). I secured the cardboard all around with tape and I continue to reapply tape as needed. The cardboard insert certainly isn't pretty, but it keeps the cats safe and that is what matters.


I've enlisted my father to help build a door insert that is more permanent and secure (and not an eye sore). The cardboard has actually held up for several weeks (I did not skimp on the tape) and still appears sturdy, but it definitely isn't going to last forever. The cardboard is placed so that I can open and close the sliding glass door and control access - I don't want anyone in the tent when I'm not around. Unfortunately, there have been several occasions when Owen didn't realize the glass door was closed and walked right into it trying to go into the tunnel.


MOM!!! It's time to go outside!!!

Poor Baby Owen. But I open the slider for him when he sits near the door and he seems to have caught on. He will sit outside all day and bask in the sunshine and warmth if we don't have any other activities planned.


Hi, mom! I found a nice sunny spot in the tunnel!

Because the tunnel rests on the elevated door frame, I needed a ramp to allow for a gradual transition to deck-level. I found a wide plank that was the perfect length with a beautiful cheetah-print cloth covering. It is awesome! So that pretty much takes care of the ramp portion. The ramp rests of the ledge of the door, just under the mesh, and stops right at the top level of the deck where the tent attaches to the tunnel. Sometimes, everyone just likes hanging out on the ramp.



I wanted the tent to be comfortable for the kitties and also tried to provide "safe zones" in each corner to that they didn't feel crowded when outside together (remember, cats have very delicate personal bubbles). The bottom of the tent is also mesh, so I needed to provide some padding. I started with a large waterproof indoor/outdoor mat underneath to provide a layer between the tent and the deck. I don't want any bugs crawling into the enclosure from under the deck or any moisture seeping into the tent area when the deck is damp. I placed a full size fleece blanket (folded over) on top for a nice comfy "floor." The cats didn't hesitate to check it out even before it was furnished.


I put a pink polka dot fleece blanket in the middle of the tent (which Owen decided is now his new kneading blanket). There is a cardboard scratcher that doubles as a seat and four kitty beds spread out. Fifi loves her scratchers.



I also put some of their favorite toys inside and sprinkled catnip around the tent on the first day. They didn't need any training - it was love at first sight x 4.


When I pack up the tent, i keep everything inside of it and fold it over on itself. That way I don't have to keep crawling in to remove everything just to set it up again the next day. If it is supposed to be nice weather for a few days in a row, I just drape a tarp over the tent overnight. So far, this has worked out well. If I put the tarp on too early and the cats aren't ready to go inside yet, they guilt me into staying out later with them.


Owen didn't let me put the tarp on all the way. It wasn't time to go inside yet.

On the nice days, we do EVERYTHING outside. The cats will go in and out as they please and I'm in my chair either reading or on my computer. If I could fit inside the tunnel, I would totally join them. But alas, that is just not possible. But they are content just knowing I'm outside with them.



When it is sunny out, I drape a nylon beach blanket over the tent to provide an area of shade - it is VERY important to make sure you provide at least some shaded space at all times. We don't want their little noses and ears to get burned! Make sure fresh water is in easy reach as well. Their water fountain is just inside if they need it. The cats actually prefer to be under the blanket rather in direct sunlight on the hot days. They don't seem to be bothered by the decreased visibility. Remember: if it is too hot for you to be in the sun, it is definitely too hot for them.


The kitties listen to the birds and can hear the bunnies rustling in the leaves below. Insects will forever be fascinating. Smaller bugs (like mosquitoes) can get through the mesh, so it is essential that the cats are on a heartworm preventative! Please see my note below for more information on heartworm disease in cats.


When we were outside one day last week and the birds were quiet, I had an epiphany. BUBBLES. I needed to get some bubbles. Cats love bubbles! If there are no birds or insects to watch, we totally need some bubbles in our lives. So bubbles we got and much fun was had.

Always make sure the bubbles you use are non-toxic (I hope they don't offer an option for toxic bubbles, but you always want to check). I purchased a bottle made for children as a trial run. Since the cats seem to enjoy it, our next adventure will be trying catnip-infused bubbles. There are several products available online, which I need to research prior to purchasing. I'll have to write a blog post about this in the future! In the mean time, we will continue enjoying the warm weather together.


The tunnel to the outdoors.

 

What is heartworm disease? And can cats even get it?


Heartworms are parasites that are spread through mosquito bites. While mosquitoes are feeding, the heartworms are injected into the bloodstream. Over a matter of months, these parasites mature and travel to the blood vessels in the lungs and eventually the heart, causing damage along the way. Adult heartworms can grow up to 8 to 12 inches in length and each worm can survive in a cat for up to four years!


Heartworms surgically removed. Source: FDA.

Cats can get heartworm disease just like dogs (and many other animals like foxes and coyotes). Heartworm disease can be fatal and there is no treatment for it in cats (and although there is treatment for dogs, it comes with its own set of risks). The following picture shows the life cycle of a heartworm in both dogs and cats. Please note that dogs cannot directly transmit heartworm disease to cats (or other dogs for that matter). But a mosquito can bite an infected dog (or wolf, coyote, fox, or sea lion!!!) and then transmit the infection to your pet. Granted the risk of my cats getting heartworm disease from an infected sea lion is slim to none, but there are a ton of dogs and wild canids in my area.

This is the path a heartworm takes as it matures in a dog or cat. Source: American Heartworm Society.

Due to a lack of safe treatment for cats, prevention is key. Since mosquitoes can easily get inside our homes, heartworm prevention is recommended for all cats, including those who live strictly indoors. Recent studies have shown that about 25% of the cats diagnosed with heartworm disease each year have never been outside. That's a pretty scary statistic.

This is a model showing adult worms within a heart.

The American Heartworm Society has created an informational brochure with more detailed information on heartworm disease in cats. Another great resource is the Pets and Parasite website by the Companion Animal Parasite Council (CAPC).


Please visit the following links for more information on heartworm disease in cats:


There are several safe and effective heartworm preventatives available for cats. All heartworm preventatives require a prescription, so please discuss the best options for your cat with your veterinarian; they are your best resource and love your cat, too! I personally use Bravecto Plus on my cats, which lasts for two months. Bravecto Plus provides protection against heartworm disease, fleas, ticks, two common intestinal parasites, and ear mites. I love this product because it covers the "trifecta" that I worry most about for my cats since they now have some exposure to the outside world: heartworm disease, fleas, and ticks. Before Bravecto Plus was introduced, I had to use two separate products to protect against heartworm disease and fleas as well as ticks. A similar preventative that is applied once a month is called Revolution Plus; it also protects against "the trifecta," along with intestinal parasites and ear mites. Please note that many of the heartworm preventatives available do not protect against ticks, so an additional product may be needed for full protection if you are not using Bravecto Plus or Revolution Plus.



93 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page