top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

Cat's Got My Tongue.

The name of this entry says it all. It’s been several months since I’ve been able to post a blog entry. Not for lack of documenting new adventures with the kitties, of course. We’ve certainly had some fun new experiences in 2021, like visiting virtual New Orleans together!

But for some reason, being able to sit down and get my thoughts on (electronic) paper has been a challenge. So I’ve decided to switch things up a little bit. Instead of the longer posts, I’m going to shorten the entries into mini stories for more variety and to give me a chance to get my groove back.

I have such helpful assistants.

Right now, I’m sitting in my favorite spot on the couch with Orange on my lap, Owen and Oliver perched at my head, and Fiona dutifully watching us from her giant pile of fluffy blankets nearby. We are all waiting for the sun to come out so I can set up the cat tent and we can move onto the deck to relax.

This has been our weekend routine for the past month or so as the weather is finally starting to warm up.

 

Now that the sun has finally come out, we’re all lounging on the deck. Owen in particular missed being out in his tent over the winter. Whenever he hears the slider door opening, he comes running!

I turned a corner of the deck into a little garden area so I'd have a hobby to work on outside while the cats lounged in the tent. I just transplanted the seedlings into my vegetable garden box, so we will see how they do!

Since I had some extra room in the garden corner, I just HAD to plant some catnip seeds so the cats can have their own fresh crop this year. The seeds were just starting to sprout when I potted them outside and they seem to be doing well, so we will be having come catnip crazies real soon. I’m sure there will be lots of fun pictures to come.

Over the past few weeks, I decided to accessorize my outside space in anticipation of the nicer weather. I’ve made it more wildlife-friendly, which in turn provides the cats with some window entertainment while I’m at work. I may have also added a few cat-themed decorations to spice things up a bit ...

But back to the wildlife focus. There are currently three bird feeders and two bird baths that are visible from the cats’ favorite perching spots inside (aka the kitchen, front door, and bedroom).

I was able to get a few pictures of the cats looking out! Can you see Fiona looking out the front door at the birds? This is her preferred viewing area. Owen loves looking out the large window in the kitchen. They're so spoiled!

The cats have already scouted out their favorite wildlife-watching spots in the house and are really enjoying the views. I'm very glad we decided to try it out! We've seen cardinals, blue jays, robins, chickadees, and some morning doves so far. I put a table under the kitchen window with some cat beds for some seriously comfy entertainment.

Of course the squirrels were jealous of the bird feeders, so I had to give them a little feeding station as well. They can be so messy, though!

I didn’t want the squirrels to break my bird feeders since they figured out how to dangle from the trees to reach the feeders up front, which was actually pretty amusing to watch. And they easily climbed the shepherd's hook to get to the other feeder. They are resilient little creatures!

So long story short, squirrels also deserve some delicious goodies! I found out that they love berries, but they had the audacity to throw the kale I offered off the side of the deck! The squirrels did spread the word and let the chipmunks know about the food stashes, so we're starting to see more and more chipmunks as well! We had some very happy critters this morning!

Owen in particular LOVES watching the squirrels and chipmunks. He can look out the slider and see their feeding station perfectly. He always lets us know when they arrive with his little chirps!

I put out the first hummingbird feeder at the beginning of May and a few little guys found it almost immediately! The feeder is right next to the cat tent and the hummers have no problem grabbing a meal while the cats are out. They zip in and out and we can hear them before we see them. They are so difficult to catch on camera!

So after a few weeks of planning, shopping, and orchestrating, we have our own little nature-loving habitat set up and ready to go for summer! Stay tuned for more indoor kitty adventures!

41 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page