top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

The Litter Robot ... My Scooping Savior.

For those who haven't heard, the Litter Robot is the next generation of litter boxes. It is self-cleaning and you can use your preferred clumping litter and trash bags. No more litter scooping? And all I have to do is replace the bag when it is full? It sounds too good to be true. Of course with any life-altering product, there is always a catch. With the Litter Robot, it is the cost. The basic Litter Robot is about $450. It sounds like a LOT up front, but you need to take into account the value of the benefits that you receive. And in my household, the Litter Robot is 100% worth it.


Litter Robot unit assembled prior to powering on.

I will admit that I purchased a (barely) used (and thoroughly disinfected) Litter Robot from a friend whose cat didn't use it - yes, you will have the occasional stubborn cat that refuses to use this type of box. The Litter Robot company offers a 90-day money-back guarantee exactly for this purpose. So it is fairly risk-free to try it out. Once I've saved up, do I plan on adding a second (and brand new) Litter Robot in my house? Yes ma'am (or sir). I've already picked out the model and color!


Litter Robot 3 Connect in gray!

There are a zillion YouTube videos and websites that explain how the Litter Robot works, so I won't go into details. Basically, you take the unit out of the box and fill it with clumping clay cat litter. There is a raised ring within the unit that shows you exactly how much litter to use. Then you plug it in and it will complete a cleaning cycle. You follow the step-by-step instructions for acclimating your cat to the box and you are ready to go. It is quite simple to use. If you get the Connect model, you download the app and have full control in the palm of your hand.


Raised ring (aka fill line) shows how much litter to add.

As I've mentioned on several occasions, gradual introduction to something new is KEY to success in the cat world. I brought the Litter Robot into my house and left it out in a common area for the day for everyone to get used to. I then moved it to my guest room where I planned to keep it and put it next to one of the current litter boxes. I filled the unit with the cats' favorite clumping clay litter (Dr. Elsey's Ultra) but didn't plug it in.

It's definitely funny looking, but no threats detected.

Be aware that right after you plug the Litter Robot in and turn it on, it will perform a cleaning cycle so make sure your cat isn't present when you first do this! It can be startling if they don't expect it. Here is a video of the Litter Robot cycling with audio to give you an idea of the sound, although it seems louder through my computer speakers than in person:



I actually sprayed Feliway (calming pheromone) around the unit and then sat next to it and let the cats come up and smell it again. They investigated for a few minutes, then decided it wasn't a threat. I left the unit unplugged for about a week and scooped the litter regularly, since they already started using it. If your cat is hesitant to investigate the Litter Robot, you can add a litter attractant (like Dr. Elsey's Litter Attract) or some catnip near the entrance. Another trick is to place a clump from the original litter box into the Litter Robot unit to give your cat an extra hint of its purpose. Make sure not to change anything with the older litter box(es), but you can keep them just a little bit dirtier and less appealing to encourage use of the Litter Robot.


Just breathe in the Feliway and relax ...

I followed the training guide closely to make sure we didn't have any hiccups since this was quite a significant financial investment (and I was really looking forward to no longer scooping). Once it was time to plug in the Litter Robot, I first did it when the cats were downstairs. They could hear it cycling, so came up to investigate and decided it wasn't nearly as scary as a vacuum. Next, I ran a cleaning cycle when they were in the bedroom (across the hall). Again, they came to investigate. After this, I set the unit to perform a cleaning cycle 7 minutes after any activity is detected. This would give the cat enough time to leave the room before cleaning started so they wouldn't be startled. Soon, they would actually come into the guest room to watch the unit turn as it cycled if I was in there with them. Several weeks later, the cats act like it's just another familiar noise. And considering that it is run by a motor and a significant amount of litter is being tossed around, the noise really isn't too bad. I'm impressed. And so are the kitties.

With four cats, three regular boxes, and the Litter Robot in full operation, I empty the litter drawer every 4 days or so. I purchased 8 gallon kitchen trash bags and they fit perfectly. Once a bag is full, it goes straight into the trash can in the garage. I add litter each time I empty the drawer and that is all I've had to do.


Generic kitchen trash bag fits perfectly!

I've also noticed that the cats are using the other boxes less often, especially if we are all upstairs (where the Litter Robot is located). Fiona is especially particular about her litter box cleanliness and I have only seen her use the Litter Robot in the past two weeks (which means less scooping for me!). So she gives it two non-opposable thumbs up. And Fifi's approval is extremely important since she will urinate right next to a litter box if I accidentally forget to clean it. Naughty.

Clean, fresh litter all the time? No dirty clumps? Finally.

There are some pretty cool features of the Litter Robot. It has a blue nightlight, so the cats can go to the bathroom in the dark without being scared. It's not an overbearing light so I can't see it from my room across the hall at night, but it is a nice added touch. The unit is easy to dismantle to clean and you can use gentle dish detergent and warm water to clean inside. It really is low maintenance.


The nightlight can be turned off if desired. I think it's nice.

A light on the control panel will turn on to indicate when the litter drawer is getting full. If you do not empty the drawer once it is full, the cleaning cycle will actually turn off so as not to overload the drawer and clog the system. If you have the Connect version (which I will be purchasing in the future), your app will actually tell you when the litter drawer is getting full and needs to be emptied. So cool! The app also tracks litter box usage, although it can't identify exactly which cat is entering the box. This is actually a nice feature to help you detect any health problems since litter box habits can change if your cat is ill.


Litter Robot's customer service is also very helpful. I had a question about the power source and I received an answer within a few hours via email. The power cord that the Litter Robot comes with is 6 feet long, which is really convenient, especially if you want to house your unit in a closet. They also offer a power cord with a cord protector in case you have cats that chew on wires or cords (thankfully I do not). I purchased a one-outlet surge protector for the Litter Robot to protect my investment. I'd highly recommend purchasing one since the Litter Robot is expensive, especially if your house has any history of power surges. Better safe than sorry and the surge protector only cost $10 on Amazon. I used this product: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00006B81E/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1



The Litter Robot company offers several accessories for your unit. I purchased the "fence," which acts like a barrier to help with litter scatter. It does help a little bit, but I wouldn't say it makes a significant difference.

One accessory that I'd love to try is their ramp. It provides a few small steps to help older or disabled cats enter the box. None of my cats have trouble getting in, but I think it would really help some cats and is a great idea. It also looks like it will contain some of the litter scatter. I will probably order it when I get my second Litter Robot and try it out. I like how it looks with the unit. I don't know why.

You can purchase the Litter Robot alone or in a package bundle with some of the accessories. There are a few options to choose from. If you aren't quite sure if you'll need the accessories, purchase the unit first and you can always order the accessories in the future. I would definitely recommend getting the extended warranty since we are dealing with an electronic device. All bundles come with the extended warranty. Below is the bundle I would choose. In addition to the warranty, it includes a ramp, litter fence, three carbon filter refills for the waste drawer, and 100 litter bags. Except for the bags, it includes everything that I'd really want.



So if you're ready to enter the world of the scoopless, let me know how you like it! You can use my referral link for $25 off a unit: http://share.litter-robot.com/WlZsB.


Remember, it is Fifi approved and that's not an easy feat!

44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page