top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

The Fountain of Mew-th

Cats need water. Adequate hydration is extremely important for overall health and well-being. You and I know that, but sometimes our cats seem to forget. So how does one encourage water consumption by our feline friends? First and foremost, keep their water fresh and their bowls clean. Have you ever felt that slimy layer on a water bowl (or food bowl for that matter)? That is called a biofilm, or less scientifically known as bacterial goo. If you are feeling that slime, it means that bacteria is sticking to the bowl and secreting a layer of material to help it continue to adhere. Since mouths are inherently dirty places, it is impossible to fully prevent this buildup without regular, thorough cleaning (rinsing alone won't work).

I'm in the sink, now where's my drink?

To clean your cat's dishes by hand, it is best to use hot water and gentle, safe dish detergent like Dawn. The dish detergent and scrubbing will help break up the slimy bacterial layer and make that bowl good as new. And your cat will thank you for that. My cats have their own dedicated sponge (stored in their own cat-shaped sponge holder), which goes into the dishwasher each cycle.

Water placement is an important factor to consider. Cats prefer to have their water in a location separate from their food. Researchers have speculated that this may have developed from their time in the wild when cats didn't want their water sources contaminated with decomposing prey (eww). You also want to make sure that your cat can easily access their water. If you have an older or arthritic cat, maybe having the water up high (like on a counter) isn't ideal for them. If you have a multi-level house, you may want to provide a water source on each level.


This bowl is on the floor in a corner for easy access.

The type of water bowl is also important and each cat may have their own unique preference. As I'm sure you've discovered, one size does not fit all in the cat world. Some cats have extremely sensitive whiskers and can become distressed if their whiskers contact the side of the bowl while drinking (or eating for that matter). This has been coined "whisker fatigue" by some. Providing a wider bowl will help to alleviate this concern.

Owen has a voluptuous, full set of whiskers.

Height and depth are also cat-specific preferences. Some cats like to drink from tall glasses while others prefer a more shallow bowl. Orange is obsessed with drinking from mugs and any cup she can find. She will stick her face as far in as possible just for a quick lick.


Orange has her own mug in the bedroom.

Some cats even have a temperature preference! Talk about needy. You can try floating an ice cube in the bowl to cool it down and give your cat something to play with. It's all a matter of trial and error to find out what your cat likes best.


Owen loves fishing for ice cubes!

The material of the bowl can be important in some cases. You obviously don't want a poor quality plastic bowl for safety reasons; yes, there is a risk of water contamination, but also remember that plastic is porous and can harbor bacteria. Plastic bowls and cups can also easily tip over, as Fiona constantly likes to remind me.



A sturdy plastic bowl from a reputable company is just fine in most case. Some cats actually have a contact sensitivity (local skin reaction) to plastic bowls and can develop a rash called "chin acne." This presents as little black flecks, bumps, or scabs under the chin and can become itchy and infected. Stainless steel would be a better option in this case. I've tried all shapes, sizes, and bowl materials and my cats aren't too picky. And luckily, there is no chin acne in my house. Except for the fountain, all of our bowls are ceramic. I like the weight of the ceramic bowls to prevent tipping (**cough cough** Fiona ...). And they come in cute designs.


A lot of cats LOVE running water. This could be rooted in instinct from their wild days when standing water posed more of a health concern than running water due to the microorganisms living in it. Another simple explanation is that it is mentally stimulating and more of a fun experience for them. This is where a pet water fountain comes in handy. I've tried several water fountains over the years and my favorites are made by PetSafe (their fountains are called Drinkwell) and CatIt. They are sturdy, work flawlessly, and last forever. I am also familiar with these companies and trust them, so haven't felt an urge to try any of the generic brands found on Amazon.

Why isn't this water moving? I will fix it with a splish splash.

Right now, we only have one fountain in the house (the Drinkwell Mini). It is in the kitchen about 10 feet from the feeding station. The cats also have a wide ceramic bowl and small ceramic mug on the first floor and two ceramic bowls upstairs (along with Orange's mug). We plan to add another fountain upstairs soon, which is very exciting.



I love the Drinkwell Mini. I purchased it from Amazon for $20.95 (https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-Drinkwell-Mini-Water-Fountain/dp/B00G15EGOE). For the price, it is perfect. Some reviewers have complained about "leaks," but I'm pretty sure that is actually spillage from drinking straight from the spout. Because this is more of a compact model, the spout is positioned off to the side rather than in the middle, like previous models. I do notice a little bit of water spillage from the fountain after someone drinks, but I wipe it up with a cloth as needed and haven't had any issues. I keep a designated microfiber cloth hung up right next to the fountain for easy access. I do have the fountain placed on a lipped rubber mat to protect my floors, which I would suggest for any fountain set up. Besides some water on the mat after drinking, I have never noticed any leaking from the actual unit.


I add water to the fountain as needed and thoroughly clean it weekly (it is dishwasher safe as long as you remove the motor). I highly recommend getting some good bottle brushes (like these: https://www.amazon.com/PetSafe-Drinkwell-Fountain-Cleaning-Brushes/dp/B000NHWMGU?ref_=ast_sto_dp) to thoroughly clean the unit if you are not putting it in the dishwasher. I replace the carbon filters as needed - usually ever other month. I fill the fountain with water from a Brita filter so the fountain's filters last a while. There are brand name and generic filters available on Amazon. Since the brand name filters are so inexpensive, I stick with those for optimal performance.

Previously, I had the Original and the Zen Drinkwell fountains. Both were just too big for the cats and I felt like the water was less fresh in them (I can't pinpoint exactly why). I did like that the spout on the Original fountain was centered, so spillage was minimal. The cats weren't as interested in the Zen fountain since the water flowed downward rather than creating a spouted stream. Both fountains functioned perfectly and I would have kept the Original fountain if I hadn't found the Mini.




I'm still on the fence about which type of fountain to get for upstairs. I really like the size of the Mini, but feel like I should spice things up a bit. I'm looking into the Drinkwell Pagoda and CatIt LED Flower fountain (see links below). The Pagoda is ceramic and comes in a really pretty blue color. Because it is fancier and larger than the Mini, it is also more expensive (about $85 right now). That's a pretty significant difference from the $20 Mini. It also requires a different filter from the Mini, so ordering separate filters would be required (which in reality is not that big of a deal). However, it comes with TWO spouts and they appear to be centered, so I suspect there would be less spillage and it offers twice as many drinking options. It also has a nice water reservoir that Orange and Owen would like. The Flower fountain is taller, so I would imagine that it would be easier to drink from (less crouching involved). It also has multiple smaller streams, providing many drinking options. I am concerned that the water does not collect enough under the stream, though; I like my fountains to provide both a stream of water and a pool to drink from to accommodate all four of my cats' preferences. So I still need to do some pondering before I decide. If you have any suggestions or have tried either fountain and have a recommendation, please let me know!




Start slow when introducing a fountain, especially if your cat has never encountered one before. Cats are very sensitive to sounds and it may take some time to get used to the new noises. You can hear the motor of the fountain when you first plug it in, but I haven't been able to detect any mechanical noise once the water starts running.


To acclimate the cats to any fountain, I first fill it with water without plugging it in. Once everyone has checked it out, I plug it in and sit near it while everyone investigates and tries it out. Everyone is used to the sound of a fountain at this point, so it doesn't take them any time at all to try out a new one. Over the years, I've noticed that Oliver and Fiona prefer to drink straight from the spout while Owen and Orange drink from the moving water below.



Owen has occasionally tried to drink from the spout, but ends up getting more water on his nose than in his mouth and gets very confused. He is a unique drinker. One day he will figure it out!



Eager for more tips on keeping your cat hydrated? Check out the article by Purina: https://www.purina.com/articles/cat/health/guide-to-cat-hydration


28 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


lois wilner
May 21, 2020

Dear Alyssa,

I am learning so much about cats! The blog is so well done!

Love, Grandma


Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page