top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

It's a FURminating Frenzy!

Shedding season is here once again. I am covered in cat hair before my day even starts. A few years ago, I decided to try out the FURminator deShedding tool. It is slightly expensive (between $25 and $35), but seems to go on sale a few times a year. I was able to get mine for $10 when one of the local Petco stores was relocating, which is a steal. There is a newer model available now, but I'm happy with mine for the time being!


You need to make sure to choose the correct FURminator for your cat - there are small and large sizes based on weight, then options for cats with either short hair or long hair. I have the large brush for short hair, which I use for everyone. Even though Owen technically has medium-length hair, it is quite fine and this brush works great. If his hair was longer or thicker, I'd want to buy him his own long hair brush. He's pretty attached to this brush though; he likes to model with his beauty tools.


Maybe he's born with it. Maybe it's the FURminator.

The FURminator is different from other grooming tools because the rake-like brush head is able to grasp the loose hairs from both the top coat as well as your cat's undercoat. It is also designed to remove some of the undercoat hairs to thin the hair coat, so make sure not to over-groom your cat or they may end up with some bald spots. Most pet brushes only work on the top coat, which is not nearly as effective for deshedding purposes (most of the shed fur comes from the undercoat). Another neat feature is the FUR-ejecting button (the blue button Owen is almost chewing on in the photo above). It removes the fur from the brush head so you don't need to use your fingers to do so. You wouldn't think it would that important, but when there is a TON of fur coming off, it comes in handy.


I see those stainless steel teeth. I'm ready for deshedding.

You only need to apply light pressure when using the FURminator. Many cats are VERY sensitive when touched and may not tolerate grooming if it is unpleasant. Fiona is one of those overly-sensitive cats, hence why she is only ever pet from the neck up. So she isn't a huge fan of grooming in general (unless she is doing it herself). As a result, I brush her with very gentle pressure and we take a lot of breaks; if she wants to run away, I let her and we start over again once she's relaxed. It's a process, but it gets done. This is also why the only picture I have of Fifi during our FURmination party is her smelling the brush. After that, we focused on her comfort level and well-being. Fifi lets me brush her sides and back, but no belly touching is allowed; that's when the bunny kicks come out. Luckily she isn't a huge shedder, so it's okay.


You can't trick me, mom. I smell trouble. That brush is FUR-ocious!

Orange, Oliver, and Owen enjoy their grooming sessions. Orange pretty much tolerates anything when she is getting attention, so she lies flat like a pancake for body brushing and then goes on her side when it is time to get her belly. I usually get a lot of fur from that 8 pound body! She's pretty proud of her hard work.


I think I lost 1/2 pound of fur!

Oliver gets VERY excited when the FURminator comes out. We play for a few seconds at first, then we get down to business. One of Oliver's favorite games is hide and seek. He is so sneaky.



Once the grooming begins, Oliver is an active participant. He walks in circles as I brush him and he nuzzles my hand and the brush with each rotation. He will rub his head against the brush and get his fur all over himself. He doesn't seem to care at all. He knows I will wipe it off. He's just so happy!


Did you see any white hairs, mom? I've got to keep this body looking young.

And when the FURminating is all done, Oliver loves to sit in front of the vent for a final blowout. His fur is so voluptuous and shiny!


Almost done, just need a quick blowout for some extra body!

This head-bumping behavior that Oliver exhibits during grooming is actually called bunting. Cats have special scent glands on their face, paws, and back end. The scent glands on the face are located around the ears, "eyebrow" area, cheeks, and around the mouth (aka pretty much throughout the facial area). Cats will actively rub their face on objects or people as a means of chemical communication. If your cat "bunts" you, they are marking you as one of their own; it's a sign of love!


Owen is a goofball. He prefers to hug a toy while he is groomed and it becomes a game for him. We sometimes need a few sessions to get all of his loose fur. And if Owen gets distracted during his spa date, the brush becomes his new toy and he tries to chase after it.



Owen rarely becomes matted, but I always make sure to get his armpit area because this is where the tangles start. I usually get a ridiculous amount of fur by the time we are done. I don't know where it comes from.


Did all of that fur come from me?

What does Owen doing after his spa appointment with the FURminator? He must groom his toes for a full-body cleanse. It's the finishing touches that can be the most important. So adorable!!!



The FURminator company claims that their deShedding tool can reduce shedding up to 90% when used weekly. I will admit that I brush my cats more on an as-needed basis. So once I notice more fur on my hands after petting or on my clothes and furniture after snuggling, I know it is FURminating time. Even using it as needed, I notice a huge difference. There aren't as many dust bunnies collecting on my stairs and I can almost go in public without using a lint roll (or rubber glove).


Goodbye dust bunnies and fur-covered furniture .... and clothes ... and blankets.

The most important reason for using the FURminator, in my opinion, is for the health of the cats. When shedding increases, so do the hairballs. Cats have backward-facing hooks on their tongues called papillae, which is why they swallow the hairs that they groom off. Much of the hair passes through the digestive tract without any issue. But as you are all aware, some hairs accumulate in the stomach to form tootsie-roll like hairballs that are inevitably coughed up onto your rug (because for some reason easily-cleaned surfaces like tile and hardwood repel hairballs). Did you know that the medical term for a hairball is a trichobezoar? I don't know who comes up with this terminology. If you look closely at Fiona's tongue, you can see the papillae lined up down the center.


Open wide, Fiona! Look at those papillae! That is one scratchy tongue.

Although most hairballs are harmless, some can make your cat sick. If a hairball gets too large, it can block entry to the small intestines or become lodged within the intestines, causing an obstruction. In some cases, surgical removal of the hairball is needed. This actually happened to Oliver several years ago, prior to the use of the FURminator. He needed a surgery called a gastrotomy to remove a hairball from his stomach. The hairball had acted like a sponge and trapped food, blocking anything from entering his intestines. He began vomiting and was sensitive when I felt his belly area. An ultrasound showed the hairball in his stomach. Oliver recovered well from his surgery and has not had any problems since. I do keep a close eye on him, though, and we are proactive with hairball control. Oliver loves cat grass, which can help bring up hairballs. Watch for a blog entry on growing cat grass in the near future!


I swear he likes it despite that expression.

In addition to FURminating the cats, I also have them on a dry food formulated for hairball management along with their canned food. The dry food contains increased fiber to help the fur move through the digestive tract. It may not necessarily prevent hairballs from being expelled (aka puked up), but I think it has decreased the frequency of hairball formation and we haven't had any health concerns since starting it, thank goodness. And everyone LOVES it. Nom nom nom.



I do use a hairball laxative as needed. My favorite products are Lax'aire (by Zoetis) and Laxatone (by Vetoquinol). Both products work by lubricating the digestive tract, making it easier for the fur to pass. I'm lucky because my cats are not picky eaters at all. They actually fight over the laxative and I make them wait their turn to get their dose. For those cats that don't like the laxative, I'd recommend putting the dose on their paw or nose so that they have to groom it off. Always discuss the use of laxatives and other supplements with your veterinarian prior to use.


To sum it up, the FURminator is awesome and is well tolerated overall by my cats. Take breaks as needed when grooming and make sure your cat is comfortable. Unlike other brushes, you can over-brush your cat with the FURminator and create thinner areas or bald spots, so continue to assess your cat's coat as you groom. I stop once I can pet my cat without any fur on my hand. I collect the fur from each cat and scatter it outside for the birds to use in their nests. They love it! Well at least I assume they do because it eventually disappears.


The combined fur colors blend in pretty well with the ground!

18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page