top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureHISSandMAKEup

If at first you don't succeed, try something mew ...

So the harness didn't really work out. I suppose I could give it another try, but I don't think the cats would LOVE walking on a leash. They are curious about the outdoors, but I think it would spook them, too. Fiona accidentally escaped a few years ago and I finally found her hiding in the wheel well of my neighbor's car. Not a fun night.


Look at my little diva!

So I decided to take one step back and try something new (or "mew" if you want to be cute). How can I get a cat outside but still offer a layer of protection? You guessed it ... A CAT STROLLER. I want to be that cool neighbor proudly pushing her cat in a stroller down the road. I want to turn heads and start a cat strolling revolution. But most of all, I want to show my cats the world while still providing a safe zone for them (and the wildlife).


Owen wants out!

To start off, let me tell you that the cat stroller has been a huge success. There are many strollers on the market. I decided to try a generic brand from Amazon with good reviews. I actually bought it from someone in town that was accidentally shipped two, so I was able to save some money! The downside is that I didn't get to choose a pretty color. Maybe someone can recommend some cat-safe decorations?

Stroll it like you mean it!

My criteria for choosing this stroller? Fully enclosed mesh netting, super sturdy, a cup holder (I have to stay hydrated!), and easy transport (it folds up for easy storage). I prefer the three wheel design as well since it seems to steer a little more easily. Strollers have a wide price range, so I decided to start low-mid range and I can always upgrade in the future (wink wink if anyone is ever trying to think of a great present for me ...).


I let the cats get used to the sight and smell of the stroller for a week before taking it for a spin. I put a blanket at the bottom of the stroller with a high-sided bed on top (and another small blanket for extra cushioning) that the cats were familiar with and then sprayed Feliway (for those of you unfamiliar with this pheromone spray, please see my note below). After about a day, each cat took a turn sleeping in the stroller (although I will admit I only saw Orange in the stroller for a few minutes - I'm her preferred sleeping surface). That was a good sign! I would zip up the mesh when they were inside so they got used to the enclosed area and let them continue to sleep, then open it a few minutes later (or immediately if they woke up and asked to come out).


Fiona seemed the most eager to try the stroller outside. Just to be safe, I put a harness on her for the first few times with the leash attached to a clip inside the stroller. She never tried to claw her way out or escape, so we stopped using the harness since she didn't LOVE it.


We started with 5 minute walks. I would put some of her kibbles or some bonito flakes (more about this delicious kitty delicacy in future posts) in a small bowl in the cat bed and she would jump into the stroller. I'd zip it all up while she was eating and we would head outside. If she started to get restless (turning/circling, changing positions frequently, trying to burrow under the bed) or vocalize, we would turn around and stop the walk. The goal was to keep stroller time a positive experience. As Fifi got more comfortable with her walks (and I started getting in better shape), we increased the duration of our neighborhood jaunts and worked our way up to about one hour walks. Some days she calls it quits after about 45 minutes and other days I give up before her. This individualized outdoor time also gives the other cats a little reprieve. So it's a win-win situation for us all. And I'm happy to announce that we have certainly turned some heads in the neighborhood!


I noticed that Oliver really likes sleeping in the stroller, so it was his turn to try it out next. We started slow and he likes to lie down in the bed and just look outside, totally mesmerized by all of the sights, sounds, and smells. He really does seem to enjoy it. Oliver is more of a sprinter than a long distance stroller-rider though; after about 15 minutes, he's ready to go home. So Oliver is my short walk companion and Fifi is in it for the long run ... or walk in our case.


I have been asked if I've ever taken multiple cats in the stroller before. I've thought about it, but the purpose of stroller time is to give everyone a break from each other, so I really think they would enjoy it more as solo trips. That being said, if I could upgrade to a double cat stroller (yes, they totally exist), then heck yeah I'm all for it. That way I don't have to worry about one cat invading the other's very delicate personal bubble in a relatively small, confined space. Cats are, of course, the natural role models for elective social distancing.



Once Fiona and Oliver mastered the art of stroller walking, I wanted to see if Owen would like it since he lovessss watching the birds. I started the same acclimation routine with him, but after about 5 minutes he would get restless and start vocalizing and look up at me with those big, sad, watery kitten eyes. He just wasn't a fan. He would get excited when the leaves moved and the birds chirped, but he was too focused on watching me. So then I thought, what if he just wants to be closer to his mom while he's outside? Maybe he just needs an added measure of comfort? And maybe he would prefer the woods instead of the pavement where there would be constant movement and excitement? And that is when the cat backpack idea became a reality...


Baby Owen loves his new backpack!
It's a box-shaped backpack for cats!
 

What is Feliway and how does it work?


Feliway is a calming cat pheromone that sends a subconscious message to our feline friends to reduce stress. This pheromone is specific to cats - humans and other pets cannot detect it and are not affected by it. I think of it as a comfort blanket for the cat. I've seen it work wonders in a lot of cats and would highly recommend trying it next time your cat needs to encounter a stressful situation (like a ride in the cat carrier) or new environment. Many vets will actually spray a towel with Feliway and drape it over your cat's carrier at the vet's office to help ease feline anxiety. If your cat gets scared or nervous in the car, you can spray a towel at home and drape it over their carrier prior to leaving the house.


There are many different situations where Feliway may be helpful. Feliway has recently come out with a Multicat version (great for any distress between cats at home) and Feliscratch for inappropriate scratching. I encourage you to visit their website (https://www.feliway.com/us) for more information on Feliway products and potential uses.

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page